MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#65
Nestor Cortes
ERA S K
2.56 0 151
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 5-11 / 210
Position: RPBorn: 12/10/1994 Birthplace: Surgidero de Batabano, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 36th Round by Yankees (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 25 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 11-4, allowing one hit and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 2-0 on Sunday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 2.56 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-8 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 10-4, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed two runs on two hits in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Thursday. Cortes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 10:52 AM PT11:52 AM MT12:52 PM CT1:52 PM ET13:52 ET17:52 GMT1:52 10:52 AM MST12:52 PM EST11:52 AM CST1:22 PM VEN21:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Cortes (left groin strain) came off the injured list to start Thursday's series finale against the Twins.
Analysis: The 2022 All-Star went 2-1 with a 2.55 ERA and 0.83 WHIP with 38 strikeouts over 42 1/3 innings in his last seven starts prior to being shelved.
Aug. 21 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)2:58 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Sunday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 9-4, allowing three runs on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed two runs on one hit and four walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Friday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 30 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 9-3, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-2 on Saturday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 24 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 8-3, allowing six hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-0 on Sunday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Nestor Cortes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 3-2 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 14 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Thursday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed four runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 12-5 on Friday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
July 2 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST7:23 PM CST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 7-3, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Guardians 6-1 on Saturday. Cortes struck out six, ending the game with a 2.44 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
June 26 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Sunday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 6-3, allowing four runs on six hits in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 6-2, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 1.94 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 5-2, allowing four runs on seven hits in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-1 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 5-1, allowing five hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-1 on Thursday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
May 26 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 4-1, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-2 on Thursday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 21 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)2:55 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 3-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-5 on Saturday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
May 15 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 2-1, allowing one run on three hits in 8.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Sunday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 9 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed one hit and four walks without giving up a run in 7.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Monday. Cortes struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.41 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.82 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - one earned - on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 12-2 on Friday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.31 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)2:04 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed two runs on one hit and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Guardians 5-4 on Saturday. Cortes struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.15 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-0 on Sunday. Cortes struck out 12, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three hits without giving up a run in 4.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 10 4 4 2 4 0 3 3.00 7.71
2019 NYY 5 1 0 - 1 33 1 0 66.2 75 44 42 16 28 1 69 1.55 5.67
2020 Sea 0 1 0 - 0 5 1 0 7.2 12 14 13 6 6 0 8 2.35 15.26
2021 NYY 2 3 0 - 0 22 14 0 93.0 75 32 30 14 25 0 103 1.08 2.90
2022 NYY 11 4 0 - 0 27 27 1 151.0 107 44 43 16 36 0 151 0.95 2.56
Career 18 9 0 - 1 91 43 1 323.0 279 138 132 54 99 1 334 1.17 3.68

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 NYY 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 92 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1100 95 87 91.8 46.37
Curveball 2 73 72 72.5 .08
Slider 445 82 68 77.2 18.76
Changeup 105 86 79 83 4.43
Cut Fastball 720 91 82 86.9 30.35

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.