MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#81
Ryan Thompson
ERA S K
5.33 3 22
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-5 / 210
Position: RPBorn: 6/26/1992 Birthplace: Turner, Oregon
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 23rd Round by Astros (2014)


Latest News
June 29 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)2:14 PM CT-Ryan Thompson walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Wednesday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Ryan Thompson allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 4-2 on Monday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 18 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST6:02 PM CST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Ryan Thompson blew his fifth save, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Saturday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 6.43 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 16 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Ryan Thompson blew his fourth save, allowing one run on one hit and two walks without recording an out, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 2-1 on Thursday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Ryan Thompson allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Saturday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.63 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST3:17 PM CST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Ryan Thompson recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Thursday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.50 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 30 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Ryan Thompson allowed four runs on four hits in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 9-5 on Monday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.88 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
May 26 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Ryan Thompson allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 7-2 on Thursday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 24 6:10 PM PT7:10 PM MT8:10 PM CT9:10 PM ET21:10 ET1:10 GMT9:10 6:10 PM MST8:10 PM EST7:10 PM CST8:40 PM VEN5:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 22 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST5:17 PM CST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Ryan Thompson blew his third save, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Sunday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Ryan Thompson blew his second save, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 8-6 on Friday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST7:19 PM CST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Ryan Thompson fell to 1-2, allowing four runs on four hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-1 on Saturday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-2 on Friday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 11 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST10:14 PM CST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE10:14 PM CT-Ryan Thompson walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-0 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 7 10:40 PM PT11:40 PM MT12:40 AM CT1:40 AM ET1:40 ET5:40 GMT13:40 10:40 PM MST12:40 AM EST11:40 PM CST1:10 AM VEN9:40 UAE11:40 PM CT-Ryan Thompson improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on four hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Friday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 10-7 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
May 3 9:20 PM PT10:20 PM MT11:20 PM CT12:20 AM ET0:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST10:20 PM CST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE10:20 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-1 on Monday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST5:35 PM CST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 9-1 on Saturday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)2:20 PM CT-Ryan Thompson recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Thursday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST1:53 PM CST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Ryan Thompson recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Saturday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Ryan Thompson walked two and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Tuesday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST3:57 PM CST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Ryan Thompson did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 9-3 on Sunday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Ryan Thompson fell to 1-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Saturday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Ryan Thompson improved to 1-0, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 9-8 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Ryan Thompson allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Oakland Athletics 13-2 on Monday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2020 TB 1 2 1 - 1 25 1 0 26.1 29 15 13 4 8 0 23 1.41 4.44
2021 TB 3 2 0 - 4 36 0 0 34.0 26 11 9 3 9 2 37 1.03 2.38
2022 TB 1 2 3 - 8 29 0 0 25.1 26 20 15 4 10 1 22 1.42 5.33
Career 5 6 4 - 13 90 1 0 85.2 81 46 37 11 27 3 82 1.26 3.89


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 9 1 0 9.1 7 2 2 1 4 0 10 1.93
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 3.2 5 2 2 1 3 0 3 4.91
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 1.2 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 9 1 0 9.1 7 2 2 1 4 0 10 1.93


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 257 93 86 89.9 58.41
Slider 170 82 76 78.8 38.64
Changeup 10 83 80 81.3 2.27
Cut Fastball 3 87 86 86.3 .68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.