MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#73
Sam Long
ERA W-L K
3.61 1-3 33
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 196
Position: SPBorn: 7/8/1995 Birthplace: Clovis, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 18th Round by Rays (2016)


Latest News
Aug. 2 9:40 PM PT10:40 PM MT11:40 PM CT12:40 AM ET0:40 ET4:40 GMT12:40 9:40 PM MST11:40 PM EST10:40 PM CST12:10 AM VEN8:40 UAE10:40 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-2 on Monday. Long struck out two, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 30 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST11:41 PM CST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Sam Long did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Friday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 27 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-3 on Wednesday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 26 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE10:30 PM CT-Sam Long allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-0 on Monday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Sam Long did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Saturday. Long struck out two, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 23 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Sam Long fell to 1-3, allowing four runs - zero earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Friday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 16 11:02 PM PT12:02 AM MT1:02 AM CT2:02 AM ET2:02 ET6:02 GMT14:02 11:02 PM MST1:02 AM EST12:02 AM CST1:32 AM VEN10:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Sam Long improved to 1-2, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-5 on Friday. Long struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 13 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST4:56 PM CST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Sam Long allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 1.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Wednesday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 12 10:45 PM PT11:45 PM MT12:45 AM CT1:45 AM ET1:45 ET5:45 GMT13:45 10:45 PM MST12:45 AM EST11:45 PM CST1:15 AM VEN9:45 UAE11:45 PM CT-Sam Long did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Monday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 9 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Sam Long fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on four hits in 2.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 6-3 on Friday. Long struck out two, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Sam Long recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-5 on Wednesday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 1.78 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 3 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Chicago White Sox 13-4 on Sunday. Long struck out three, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 25 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one run on three hits in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-2 on Saturday. Long did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 23 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST1:33 PM CST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-6 on Thursday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 19 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one run on three hits in 1.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Sunday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 15 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Sam Long allowed two runs - zero earned - on three hits in 3.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Kansas City Royals 3-2 on Wednesday. Long struck out two, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Sam Long allowed three hits without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Saturday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 8 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Sam Long walked one and didn't allow a hit in 3.0 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Tuesday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 2 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST7:23 PM CST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 3-0 on Thursday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 6 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE10:51 PM CT-Sam Long walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-1 on Thursday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 5 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Sam Long allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-1 on Wednesday. Long did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 1 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST5:48 PM CST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Washington Nationals 11-5 on Sunday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 9:50 PM PT10:50 PM MT11:50 PM CT12:50 AM ET0:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST10:50 PM CST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE10:50 PM CT-Sam Long fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Wednesday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Sam Long allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Monday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Sam Long allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 7-1 on Friday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Sam Long did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the New York Mets 3-1 on Tuesday. Long struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST2:41 PM CST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Sam Long did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cleveland Guardians 8-1 on Sunday. Long struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Sammy Long walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Monday. Long did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2021 SF 2 1 0 - 0 12 5 0 40.2 37 27 25 5 15 0 38 1.28 5.53
2022 SF 1 3 1 - 1 28 6 0 42.1 39 23 17 8 14 1 33 1.25 3.61
Career 3 4 1 - 1 40 11 0 83.0 76 50 42 13 29 1 71 1.27 4.55

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 SF 12 10 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .100 .100 .100
Career 40 10 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .100 .100 .100


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 325 97 91 94.7 43.98
Curveball 198 81 73 77 26.79
Changeup 216 88 79 84.3 29.23

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.