MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Matt Barnes
ERA S K
4.57 8 30
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 208
Position: RPBorn: 6/17/1990 Birthplace: Danbury, Connecticut
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Red Sox (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 19 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Matt Barnes blew his fourth save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Friday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Thursday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST2:25 PM CST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3 on Sunday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Thursday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.09 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Matt Barnes fell to 1-3, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Friday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-2 on Thursday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-5 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Washington Nationals 5-3 on Saturday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his second save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 9-7 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Matt Barnes fell to 1-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Saturday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-5 on Friday. Barnes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST3:17 PM CST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Matt Barnes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed three runs - two earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 11-5 on Saturday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Matt Barnes improved to 1-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Sunday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Matt Barnes walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Friday. Barnes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-0 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 4-2 on Thursday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 6-5 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
July 26 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Matt Barnes walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Sunday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Bos 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 9.0 11 4 4 1 2 0 8 1.44 4.00
2015 Bos 3 4 0 - 0 32 2 0 43.0 56 28 26 9 15 0 39 1.65 5.44
2016 Bos 4 3 1 - 2 62 0 0 66.2 62 32 30 6 31 1 71 1.40 4.05
2017 Bos 7 3 1 - 3 70 0 0 69.2 57 31 30 7 28 0 83 1.22 3.88
2018 Bos 6 4 0 - 3 62 0 0 61.2 47 25 25 5 31 1 96 1.26 3.65
2019 Bos 5 4 4 - 12 70 0 0 64.1 51 29 27 8 38 2 110 1.38 3.78
2020 Bos 1 3 8 - 12 22 0 0 21.2 18 13 11 4 12 1 30 1.38 4.57
Career 26 21 14 - 32 323 2 0 336.0 302 162 153 40 157 5 437 1.37 4.10

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bos 70 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 323 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 6 2 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 3 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2018 Bos Total 4 0 0 - 0 20 0 0 17.1 6 2 2 2 12 0 18 1.04
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 4.1 1 1 1 1 4 0 4 2.08
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
Career 2 0 0 - 0 11 0 0 10.1 6 2 1 1 6 0 10 0.87


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 227 97 93 95.5 53.54
Curveball 187 87 82 84.6 44.1
Changeup 10 89 87 88.1 2.36

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.